BTEC National in IT

Exam Board: Edexcel


This course is equivalent in size to one A Level.


Course Content:       

4 units of which 3 are mandatory and 2 are externally assessed


Mandatory Units

  • Information Technology Systems (exam)
  • Creating systems to Manage Information (practical work in controlled conditions)
  • Using Social Media (coursework)


Optional/Specialist Units (all assessed via coursework):

  • Website development
  • Data modelling



42% Coursework in the form of presentations, practical and written work

25% Practical work produced in controlled conditions

33% Examination (2 hrs)



Career Opportunities:       

Successful completion of the BTEC National Extended Certificate is equivalent to one GCE A level.  BTEC Nationals are highly valued by employers and higher education.  On completion of this course, students will have the knowledge and skills to progress to higher education in fields such as web development, IT support or software engineering. BTEC IT also provides students with essential IT skills should they wish to transfer directly to employment or study of another field.


Entry Requirements:

GCSE Mathematics and English at grade 5 or above. You do not need to have studied ICT or Computer Science at GCSE level.